Total Immersion Forums  

Go Back   Total Immersion Forums > Freestyle
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2012
CoachSuzanne CoachSuzanne is offline
Coach
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,827
CoachSuzanne is on a distinguished road
Default Phelps Counts His Strokes

Did anyone else catch that on the interview last night with Phelps? He took 2 extra strokes for his 100m butterfly. Doesn't surprise me at all that he counts, but thought it was awesome that he mentioned it!
__________________
Suzanne Atkinson, MD
Steel City Endurance, LTD
Pittsburgh, PA

Total Immersion Swim Coaching, Triathlon and Bicycle Training in Pittsburgh, PA

My TI Coach Blog
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2012
swimmermike swimmermike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 65
swimmermike is infamous around these parts
Default Phelps and stroke count

Yes

I heard that. I mentioned it to my son (who is thinking of taking up swimming) as soon as Phelps said it.

It's affirming to hear that kind of thing from Phelps.
__________________
Michael Moran, M.D.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2012
CoachJohnB's Avatar
CoachJohnB CoachJohnB is offline
Coach
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 160
CoachJohnB is on a distinguished road
Default

He has mentioned it before last night. He admitted to doing so after the 200 fly final in Beijing, where his goggles filled-up with water.

He said that he had to count his strokes because he couldn't see the walls.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2012
swimust swimust is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 832
swimust is infamous around these parts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachJohnB View Post
He has mentioned it before last night. He admitted to doing so after the 200 fly final in Beijing, where his goggles filled-up with water.

He said that he had to count his strokes because he couldn't see the walls.
Phelps goggles filling with water?!!... I can do that too.
Go figure. If it happens to him then we are excused :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-03-2012
Richardsk Richardsk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,231
Richardsk is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, but when it happens to Phelps he still wins.

Still, it's good to know that even the stars make mistakes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2012
tomoy tomoy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 327
tomoy is infamous around these parts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richardsk View Post
Yes, but when it happens to Phelps he still wins.

Still, it's good to know that even the stars make mistakes.
I remember that race. He was pissed. I think, at the end he ripped them off his head and threw them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.